Hi my name is Jack. I’ve been told I need a new home because my person has to move into assisted living and can’t take me with her. I’m 9 years old, but heck, in Lhasa/Shih Tzu years that’s only middle-age! I still have the energy of a young pup. I love my daily walks and play time. I do love to get into mischief though. Since I’m a low-rider, my nose is usually plastered to the ground ready to pick-up anything with a strong scent so you have to keep a close eye on me! I love meal time so much that I’m a good boy and sit and wait for it, but once I’m eating, I won’t let anyone near my food! I can get pretty possessive of my bones and toys too, so I’m told I’ll do better in an adult-only home who has experience with helping me learn to not be so possessive. I’ve never lived with other dogs or cats, but I generally get along with the other dogs I’ve met as long as they’re my size; they just better stay away from my food!

I’m in good health, but I do have dry eye and need drops every day and I need regular grooming. I’m not a huge fan of the groomer, so I prefer someone with a gentle touch and calm nature. I’m used to having someone around a lot but I do really well in my crate for a few hours alone as long as I have my favorite blankets and toy. I’m a great lap warmer in the winter so if you like to curl up with a good book or a movie, I’m your man! I’m a bit of a scaredy-cat around loud noises like thunder or fireworks, but as long as I have a person to help me feel safe, I get over it quickly. If I’m alone and have run of the house, I’ll find all kinds of trouble to get into. My favorite is unrolling and eating toilet paper, so I’m happier hanging out in my crate or play pen.

Jack is posted for Furbaby Rescue. He is in one of their foster homes in Redmond, WA.

ODH has not met this dog; we urge prospective adopters to do their own evaluation.