“My name is Marble and I’ve led a very interesting life. For the first 6 years of my life I was a sled dog. I was the LEAD sled dog, in fact! I lived in Alaska and did my “job” there until the man who owned me gave me to my current family. It’s been very nice just getting to be a dog, one who can come and go inside my home and be a part of a family.

Now I have come to the next phase of my life, looking for a home with people who will see me into the “final chapter” of my journey. I’m 13 years old and I no longer need to be as active as I used to be but I still love to get out and sniff and run as fast and long as my legs can manage. I never have gotten walking on leash down too well. Remember I was taught to pull so one must keep that in mind when walking me.

I do need a home with a fenced yard as I will take off on my own if I’m given the opportunity. I’m a 60 pound Alaskan Husky/Australian Shepherd mix and I am often told what a pretty girl I am. I am good with other dogs as long as they are submissive to me (old habits die hard!). I really like cats, I’ve lived with them and we get along just fine. My current family has children that have been raised with me so I’m used to kids. I’ve always been a gentle girl with children and I hope to always be treated the same by them.

Currently I spend my days lounging around, I can still manage stairs and stay alone quite a few hours inside without needing a potty break. I’m really a well behaved girl with an easy-going personality; I rarely ever bark. Truth be told I do have stinky breath, it’d be nice to have my teeth cleaned if you can manage it but I don’t ask for much. I love a good scratching and a cozy place to take naps. I’m hoping to find a new home soon.”

Marble is in Bellingham, WA ready for adoption.

This is not an ODH dog; we urge prospective adopters to do their own evaluation.