“My name is Rocky and I am only 9 years old. I’m a Shih Tzu who weighs a little over 17 pounds. I’ve been a service dog for my person since I was a pup. I’m really a very good boy who has always been on a schedule and done my “job” faithfully. Lately I’ve not been acting like a service dog should; both my human and my trainer think it’s time for me to move on and just be someone’s dog and faithful friend. That sounds good to me, I’m ready to have that life!

“Being a service dog, I’m used to being with someone almost all of the time, “24/7” as they say. I have been left alone up to 5 hours at a time but I will admit to barking at first as I’m not happy to let my person out of my sight. But remember, my job has been to stay with my person so take me away from that and I will need time and patience to adapt.

“I have hung out with other dogs on vacation and when I’ve been boarded. I like other nice dogs! Maybe I’ll find an adoptive home with a friendly dog or 2 that will want to be friends, play and we’ll keep each other company? We used to have a kitty that was a friend and we played but my person was allergic so she had to find a new home. Now when we visit a friend who has a cat, I bark at the cat. Why I bark, I can’t tell you. Perhaps my barking means I want to play? If you have a cat, we may be just fine as long as the cat is nice and smart about dogs.

“I’ve never lived with kids and my person has been very protective of me and young children. I have been allowed to play with older kids that knew not to tease me and be kind to me.

“I do have allergies that my person can fill you in on. I will chew on myself and the vet has told my person it could be stress related from doing my job in addition to my allergies. I hope to find a human who can help me with this. I’ve heard there are good options for dogs with allergies. I know my person has certainly tried to do everything she can to keep me comfortable.

“Aside from my allergies, I’m in good shape. I can do stairs and I take 2 walks a day. My walks are about the sniffing, not so much the exercise but I enjoy a good outing 20-30 minutes twice a day. I also really like playing with balls and toys. I know some verbal commands and like to “hunt” for treats. I can go quite a long time without needing a potty break but as I get older, maybe I won’t have to anymore?

“My person can fill you in on me more. She is sad to give me up but it is for the best.  I’m a fun dog, really I am and I’m looking forward to this next chapter in my life. Will you be the one to lead me into it?”

Rocky is located in Auburn, WA., ready for his new home.

This is not an ODH dog; we urge prospective adopters to do their own evaluation.