“Hi! I’m Opie. I am a 70 pound pitbull. I was purchased as a puppy about 8.5 years ago. I have lived with the same person all of my life but now I am in need of a new home. I’m looking for a home where I can continue to be the only animal in the house. I do not like other animals and I’ve never been around children. But I LOVE adults! I am a very affectionate boy.

“I dream of a home with a securely fenced back yard that I can get out and enjoy. I love walks and hope my adopter will take me out for lots of them. I enjoy a good run. Exercising is good for the body and mind. My person will tell you my leash skills are “average”. Because of my strength, I need someone strong enough to manage me especially if I see another dog while we are out  . A refresher course never hurt anyone.  I would enjoy the attention from my new person; I aim to please!​

“I really am a nice boy. I am always gentle with my stuffed toys, never destroying them. I just give them lots of licks and nap with them. I spend long hours alone inside my home now. Ideally I won’t have to do that in my new home. I am having trouble lasting the many hours I need to now without a potty break. This happens as we dogs age. I wonder how many humans can hold it for over 10 hours without really being uncomfortable?? A home where someone is around to let me out after a few hours, or one where on a lunch break I could be let out, would be SO nice.

“Stairs aren’t a problem for me currently but I’m not a small fellow so if you have a home with a lot of stairs, it may become harder for me to use them as I age. Please keep this in mind when considering a dog you cannot pick up easily. I am well behaved when left alone inside my home. I rarely ever bark. I am NOT an “outside dog”!

“I will admit I am showing signs of my age; my hearing and vision aren’t as sharp as they once were. I do have dry eyes, ear infections and itchy skin sometimes. My person has used a medicine called Apoquel before for my skin. I saw my vet 3 months ago. I could really use a senior check up and regular vet care with attention to my ears, skin, and eyes. Dry eyes and ear infections can cause permanent damage and itchy skin is just not fun! I need an adopter who can and will afford my lifelong vet care as well as good quality dog food.

“I just know there’s someone out there for me! Someone who will love me, take good care of me and keep me forever. I have so much to offer. I promise to be the best boy ever!”

Opie is located in Puyallup, WA. For contact information please email: referrals@olddoghaven.org

This is not an ODH dog; we urge prospective adopters to do their own evaluation.

Adoption Info