“Hi, my name is Brutus. I’m a big, black Labrador Retriever who weighs 100 pounds. I cannot tell you exactly how old I am but I believe I’m between 11 and 12 years old. I’m your typical happy, well-behaved, mellow lab. I’ll give you a little dance-best I can do at my age-when you come back home from somewhere.

“I’ve not lived with another dog but I really do love meeting other dogs. I’ve lived with and am very friendly with cats. Kids of all ages are great, as long as they know to be gentle with me. No one wants to be sat or pulled upon!

“I spend hours alone during the day while my person is away. I’m a good boy and I can manage that time without needing a potty break. But I’m getting older and this will not always be something I can do. The same goes for stairs. While I can still manage stairs at this point, there could certainly come a time when I can no longer and unless you are really strong, you won’t be able to carry me. Things to think about..

“Something else to think about is that old dogs like me need vet care. I’ve not had a full check up that I can ever remember. To keep me as healthy as I can be and be aware of anything that could be changing for me, I need a home with someone who can afford to take me to a vet and be sure I’m A-O.K. This is not to say there’s anything wrong with me, but just want to remind people that just like humans, old dogs need regular health care.

“I’m very good on leash, I don’t need really long walks but I certainly appreciate getting out. It’s good to keep moving! I’ll help keep you on schedule, at noon it’s time for my bone and at bedtime, I’ll be sure you’re not turning in too late. I’m an extremely smart boy.

If you are looking for a new, old friend, perhaps you’ll consider me? I don’t ask for too much but I can give you so much-loyalty, friendship and smiles.”

Brutus is in Pullman, WA. waiting for his adopter.

This is not an ODH dog; we urge prospective adopters to do their own evaluation. 

 

 

 

Adoption Info