“Hi, I’m Carl!  I hear I’m a cocker spaniel, cavalier mix. My people say I’m about 9 1/2  years old. I weigh 45 pounds. My people found me not quite 2 years ago on a place called “Craigslist”. I was being crated for LONG hours, every day, and my former owners recognized that wasn’t fair to me so they adopted me out to my current owners. Well, these people realize that being tethered for a 4-6 hours outside, many times a week is unfair too so here I am again, looking for a home where I won’t be crated for a really long time or stuck outside all alone at the end of a tether. I’m hoping the third time is the charm??

​”​While I can’t recall living with another dog, my people take me to the dog park and I mind my own business. They call it being “indifferent”. I guess I could be OK living in a home with another dog; maybe it’d be fun to have a mellow canine pal? I have been well socialized, I’m just not needy. I’ve never been around cats. Kids are great, as long as they are old enough to know to be gentle. I have very sensitive ears and don’t want them to be pulled upon. I hear young children- if allowed- will do that to us dogs… OUCH!

​”​Speaking of my ears, one does have to keep up on the care and cleaning of my ears or I’ll get painful infections. I also need regular grooming. I was only neutered last year! But I’m very well potty trained when I’m outside of my crate and get to have time inside the house with my people. I won’t mess in my crate, that’s just gross, so I’m hoping in my new home, I won’t have to be crated for long hours.

​”​My person has taught me some basic commands and I have even learned a few tricks! I’m very smart and I’m not barky unless I get tangled up in my tether. If you’re looking for a guard dog, I’m not your guy. I would lick a stranger to death! I behave well on walks and would love a daily walk. But I must stay on leash or I’ll run off. A home with a fenced yard would be the best fit for me. Oh I’m a great traveler! I love a good road trip.

​”​What I’m dreaming of is a home with someone around often, someone who wants to take me for walks and enjoy my company. What I hope for is a true forever home, a home I won’t lose. I need someone who can afford my vet care, grooming and good quality food. I guess that’s every dog’s dream? I truly hope my dream will come true.”

Carl is located in Lakebay, WA. For contact information please email: referrals@olddoghaven.org

This is not an ODH dog; we urge prospective adopters to do their own evaluation.